DIY Matte Manicure: Success or Fail?

Hey lovely!
Today I decided to do a DIY manicure and try out this really cool trick to make any polish have a matte finish. So let’s see how this turned out!

  

I used the Maybelline Color Show in the shade Onyx Rush.
In Michelle Phan’s book Makeup, it said to make your nail polish have a matte finish, all you do is get water to boil in a pot and while the polish is wet put it over the steam (careful not to burn yourself!) I don’t know the science behind it but I was surprised at how well it worked for my left hand! It’s unmistakeably matte and I love it! 

  

Now my right hand is a whole different story. You see, I’m not as fast with nail polish on my right hand (if you’re ambidextrous, lucky you!) and so I put the water to boil after painting 2 of my nails. It turned out that my nails mostly dried before the steam rose from the boiling water. I ended up with halfway matte surface. 

    

Overall, I love this, and I think this is a 100% better option then buying matte nail polish. Of course it’s not perfect, but it works! Now if I could only do this with my lipstick (;
Have an amazing day!
Instagram: apekshaxg

5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Nice tip for matte nail polish! πŸ™‚

  2. Yup!! I tried this the other day,when my friend suggested the exact thing.. I’m out of my butter London matte coat & had been sulking… Manh!! She cheered me up with this idea..
    It isn’t the ultimate but yes it’s really damn good πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ‘πŸ»
    Great post Hun!!

Leave a Reply

